Report on the proceedings of the Second National Anti-Corruption Summit


1. Acknowledgements

The National Anti-corruption Forum (NACF) would like to thank everyone who contributed in any way to the Second National Anti-corruption Summit. Heartfelt appreciation is therefore due to:

President Thabo Mbeki for his support of the Summit and for delivering the Keynote Address.

Ministers G J Fraser-Moleketi (Chairperson of the NACF), Trevor Manuel (Minister of Finance) and Deputy Minister Johnny de Lange (Justice and Constitutional Development) who each contributed to the Summit with critical inputs.

The PSC for its guidance and support during the hosting of the Summit, in particular the leadership provided by the chairperson of the PSC, Prof. Stan Sangweni.

John Ernstzen, (Chairperson of the plenary sessions of the Summit) and Dr Janetta Minnaar-van Veijeren (Summit Director), who both led the event with wisdom and humour; and Tim Modise (SABC) for chairing the informative Roundtable on the Protected Disclosures Act.

The Department of Public Service and Administration for its leadership and cooperation provided before and during the Summit.

Members of the Resolutions Committee who worked late into the night to produce the final resolutions of the Summit: Prof Richard Levin, DPSA (Convenor): Ms Odette Ramsingh, OPSC: Ms Manching Benedicta Monama, DG of the Limpopo Provincial Administration: Kenny Fihla, BAC: Ms Viviene Pearson, SAIA: Ms Andiswa Ndoni, BUSA: Hennie van Vuuren, ISS: Hassen Lorgat, SANGOCO and Ms Alison Tilley, ODAC.

Members of the Task Team (including the Secretariat of the NACF) drawn from the three sectors: private, public and civil society sectors, who worked hard to make the Summit the success that it was:

Colm Allan, Hassen Lorgat, Willem Punt representing civil society;

Peter Goss, Ms Phumeza Ngebulana and Ms Viviene Pearson representing the private sector; and

Ruan Kitshoff and Solomzi Khohli representing the public sector.

Secretariat: Odette Ramsingh, Roderick Davids and John Mentoor.

Very importantly - the Summit’s sponsors:

The Embassy of France;

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ);

Department for International Development (DFID), UK whose contribution also made possible the printed publication of this report;

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC); and the

Public Service Commission.

The Summit was made possible through generous support from the following organisations:

Department for International Development, UK  Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit  Public Service Commission  The Embassy of FranceUnited Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)